Sagebrush residents embark on own path to transfer school territory

La Cañada Valley Sun
November 19, 2015
By Sara Cardine

Frustrated by stalled negotiations between La Cañada and Glendale school officials over a possible transfer of students living in western La Cañada into LCUSD boundaries, a citizens group has decided to begin pursuing a “second path” to resolution.

Unite LCF, a group of residents living in the contested “Sagebrush” area, announced it will move ahead with plans to collect signatures from residents in a petition that could eventually be submitted to the L.A. County Office of Education for a legal decision on the matter.

Unite LCF Chair Tom Smith, who established the group in 2013, said members felt it was time to move forward with preparations, since the school districts have failed to reach consensus after two years of talks.

“It seemed like we were on the cusp of what would have been a historic negotiated landmark settlement,” Smith said Wednesday. “And (now) that seems to have totally gone off track.”

continued….click here for full story.


Getting to Know the CVTC Candidates: Sagebrush Issue

Where do the candidates stand on the Sagebrush territory transfer issue?


Reminder for those living in the unincorporated portions of La Crescenta and Montrose:  Vote on Fri November 6 (5:00-8:00 pm) and Sat November 7 (8:00 am to 5:00 pm) at St. Luke’s of the Mountains Episcopal Church (Sadler Hall), located at 2563 Foothill Blvd, La Crescenta, CA 91214. NE corner of Foothill Blvd. and Rosemont Ave.

Candidate debate quotes from the CV Weekly article this week:

Candidate Sophal Ear “On Sagebrush, it’s democracy in action. People who live in one city should be united with their school district. The concern is what happens to Mountain Avenue Elementary School? GUSD would get fewer resources, due to taxes transferring to LCUSD, but we have to ensure that Mountain Avenue remains open and continues its outstanding performance.”

Joshua Wade doesn’t address Sagebrush directly but says elsewhere, “My first priority is reorganizing Crescenta Valley, incorporating La Crescenta and the surrounding communities into a city…My second and directly related priority is the formation of the Crescenta Valley Unified School District.”

Jo Ann Stupakis says, “Being an employee of GUSD and a resident of unincorporated La Crescenta, I bring a perspective that enables me to be objective, while taking into consideration what is best for my community.”

Arem Ordubegian says, “I am convinced that it was the uproar we caused that slowed down the march to swiftly settle the Sagebrush dispute so that the impact on Mountain Avenue Elementary, along with the impact districtwide, could be assessed and properly valued.”

Lisa Griffin says, “ The town council has pushed and will continue to push for a seat at the table on important discussions concerning the schools. I know there has been talk about spinning off to our own school district, certainly something that can be explored to test the  feasibility. But there is no need to act in haste.”

Click here for full article.

UPDATE Nov 8, 2015

The winners of the 2015 election:
Lisa Griffin
Mike Claessens
Sophal Ear
Aram Ordubegian, 1st Alternate
JoAnn Stupakis, 2nd Alternate
Charles Beatty , 3rd Alternate
The newest members will be sworn in at our December 17th meeting. CV Town Council meets monthly, on the 3rd Thursday at 7pm, La Crescenta Library